Around 850, on this place, a parish was created from Snellegem. In 1086, it certainly was independent.
During the 12th century, the original building, of which we don't know anything, was replaced by a 3-aisled romanesque church including a west-building. The underpart is a witness from this period.
It is the eldest church in Bruges, and also the cathedral.
The early-gothic trunk of the tower is built in bricks. At the bottom, it is supported by buttresses, and flanked by a staircase turret. It remains from the 13th century. By the end of the 13th century, other parts of the romanesque church are replaced by gothic parts. In 1358, a heavy fire destructed the romanesque nave and damaged the tower. The tower was repaired, but the nave was replaced by a gothic one. The works were only finished by the beginning at the 15th century.
The ambulatory has 5 radial chapels and was designed by Jan Vanden Poele.
In 1839, another fire caused damage. After this, the rather low tower from the Middle Ages got a neoromanesque crowning designed by the British architect Robert Chantrell. The spire itself is even more recent. It was made in 1865-1872, according to plans by Eugène Carpentier. A lot of arched corbel courses are used.
In the interior, cross ribvaultings and pier arches are carried directly by shafts. They are supported by richly profiled clustered columns. There is a triforium.
In 1870, Jean-Baptiste de Bethune added neogothic polychromy, giving the interior a more festive impression. In the meantime, this mainly disappeared, but you can still admire it on the stellar vaulting.
The museum of the cathedral shows church treasures like paintings, reliquary ... The beautiful organ was built between 1619 and 1717. The interior houses oa.tapestry, mausoleums and a baroquerood loft.
The pulpit and the lectern also merit some attention.
At night, the illuminated tower is a remarkable, pale view.